When are you living for?

Monday, A Week to Remember Part 2: May 7-13

________________________________________________

Wowzers, its been 10 months since my last post… time flies!

(Excuse me as this post will be more like stream-of-consciousness than anything else)

Speaking of time,

As humans we must rationalize everything according to what we currently understand. Time, a complex subject in idea, has been been formulated and split up into weeks, days, hours, minutes, seconds and so forth. We accept and understand this as it has been taught to us from childhood. We have been taught today is Monday, yesterday was Sunday and Tomorrow is Tuesday; this month is May and the next is June. This time-telling method has marked history for centuries and has been what we base our lives upon. It truly is a gift from God.

However, that moment when you are loosing sleep oveTime flies :Dr an event that is going to occur in exactly 24 hours or 24 days and planning out how that day is going to pan out, consider this: have you made time your god, or your God the Author of time?

If you know me, you know I am meticulously an overplanner. I find myself planning out how tomorrow will commense while lying in bed, I place all of these expectations upon myself and others around me. I then spend the days preceding sprinting through eachday, never looking to my left or right, smelling the roses, or even paying attention to much around me, even my current emotional, physical or spiritual state. What runs through my mind are the words gotta get through today quick, gotta plan for tomorrow, gotta get to tomorrow. No rest finds my thoughts as they race with the possible outcomes of that one day. Until a few months ago, I had not realized that I had made time my god. I worshipped it, I feared it and gave it a higher place in my life than its very Creator. I let what I understood, what I could comprehend with my small earthly mind, govern my every step. Heavenly time was not a concern of mine, for its loftiness was not only out of my mind’s grasp, but out of my control.

It was not until the weight of college planning hit me that I smashed into the rocky floors of my heart. I was loosing my mind, thinking about tomorrow, thinking about all of the responsibility and obligations to come. Each day I went through was a blur and I wasted more time worrying about college than actually effectively preparing to attend. It was not until my mother brought this scripture to my attention a few times, I came across it in my Bible reading and someone used it while praying for me that it truly came alive to me for the first time:

“So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today”

Matthew 6:34 (NLT)

I had heard it so many times and it didn’t sink in so much as that moment. Next, God spoke to me in multiple ways about this sort of thing. One way was through a lyric in an Ascend the Hill song that said, *”I offer up my time to You, so keep me and hold me still…” when revelation flooded over me and it occured to me I can give my time to my God as an offering.

So, tired of being constantly stressed, feeling like you have no time? Or worrying so much that when it comes time to perform, you are burned out and miss out on other opportunities I challenge you: offer up your time to God and dedicate every second to his governship. You must give up any conceptions you have of time and ask God to give you wisdom on how to handle timeHisway, from that eternal perspective. For His ways are higher and He knows the beginning and the end so why not seek wisdom from Time’s Master? That anxiety that you feel, the kind that eats you alive or keeps you up at night does not have to be there at all. Tomorrow is in the careful hands of our Lord and Master Creator. As long as we, his beloved, remain in obedience and just spend all our time loving God and others, and we seek out his wisdom and not our own, our paths will be straight (Proverbs 3:5-6). He promises provision for those who give of themselves to him. So, if you give up your time to Him, whether it be a deliberate dedication each morning, a time of prayer or fasting when normally inconvenient, or anything that he is pressing on our hearts to do, he will return that with a blessing tenfold. You will get back more than just time, but your time will begin to mean something. Every hour is more cherished and lived out more fully because burdensome worry has been lifted off of the shoulders. He urges us through the apostle Paul:

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 4:6-7, NLT)

Peace. That goes beyond my meager human comprehension. Marvelous.

Attainable, yes, but not through any human means that can be broken into formulas. It is a day by day, hour by hour, minute by minute thing. Letting the grace of God cover everything in your life, your past failures and the ones you are to make in the future. His grace is limitless and only needs a vessel to flow into, not matter how tattered or overused. No matter how time-crunched or destroyed. He simply wants you to come, step out of all that you presently understand about life and just bask in all that He is which is Wisdom, Grace, Love and Peace.

-Bethany

Look out for a new post tomorrow! I will be here all week baaaybeee! A Week to Remember Part 2

(P.S. I have actually impulsively literally stopped to smell the roses twice this week 🙂 Progress? )

Here is that Ascend the Hill song if you want to listen: http://chcaptivation.tumblr.com/post/16028884087/spend-it-all-ascend-the-hill

Peace: this is how I picture it.

Leave a Reply

