Trends: Windows

Most of our life is spent out of the eyes of others. Now see this picture in your mind: You are looking at a bunch of windows all next to and on top of eachother that cover a wall that goes on forever. Inside each of these windows is the lives of everyone of the world, the parts where it is just them, in their room or wherever they are usually alone. The lives of most can be predicted without even seeing through those windows. A common picture is one young person in their bedroom texting, or eyes glued to the computer screen. Really not much more is seen. Now imagine this with me: an individual that isn’t of this world but has devoted their life to the study of the common teenager is looking into this extensive wall of windows and examining the behaviors of each human. He comes across your window, now here is a question: What would be seen? Would it be just a typical situation and the examiner would simply check you off as another; or, for a surprise would he see different lifestyle? One comparable to Christ’s.

This really got me. I was sitting in my room doing pointless things on the computer while watching my phone from the corner of my eye. I looked out my wide open window. Since I have moved back into my bedroom, I haven’t had any sort of window covering. When I was staring at the “eye-like” window, God showed me that image of a person looking through it into my life. Would they see anything interesting or just move on? I was convicted at that moment (also excited for the inspiration). I hadn’t been leading a purposeful life behind the scenes, in my own personal time; instead, I was indulging in pointless rhythmic affairs that got me nowhere. I would end the day in a stagnant parody of a life that Christ intended for me while lugging that cross down the path of suffering.

“What is to be done next?” Is the question echoing in my heart. I am at the point where I know I love God and want to give him all of my heart. I think the thought just solidified in my head that this “all” needs to include my schedule and priorities on top of my dreams. If you really think about it our schedule is the little incriments of our daily lives and our priorities are the orders of them; leading to, if we give these to God, these personal times, this could have a butterfly type effect that will eventually elevate the whole way we live.

Lets go back to that wall of windows, this time the examiner stops and is intrigued by a human seen through one of the windows. In the morning that young person is seen kneeling before their bed and in an attitude fixed on God. When that individual gets home, they sit down and read from their devotional. Later on they are seen lying on their bed with worship music in the background and then they pull out their Bible and study it. I’m not saying you have to do all these things at a certain time, I am just pointing out that that life was one that sparked interest of the examiner, made a silent impact.

“When you pray, you should go into your room and close the door and pray to your Father who cannot be seen. Your Father can see what is done in secret, and he will reward you.” Matthew 6:6 (NCV)

-Bethany

3 thoughts on “Trends: Windows

  1. I remember a time when I was a little boy, hands folded praying to Jesus. I used to sleep with my bible and pray to Him every night. I remember His presence alone in my room, I used to pray that he’d come stay with me while I fell asleep. I had so much faith, I entrusted everything to him. I was innocent, giving my whole life to Jesus, and dwelling on Him daily.

    Now Im a 24yo man, in my 4th year of university… I’ve devoted my last 4 years to studying history, philosophy, economics, law, astronomy, you name it. It seems the only time I think about God is when I need something or I’m mad at him for allowing something to occur in my life.

    I’ve had my heart broken, been through a lot of stress, sinned more times than I can count, and been in very dark places emotionally. And as I sit here feeling empty, writing this paper for class, I hear Him knocking. Quietly knocking. And every once in awhile, I break down and cry, ask for forgiveness, only to fall again.

    I know I may never be considered a good Christian or servant, but if I remain faithless, I pray that I remain faithlessly His, because deep down I’m still that little boy.

    God bless you.

    • May I ask what is a “good” christian. None, of us that follow Christ can even call ourselves good because the reality is, we sin against God. That, however, is the whole reason why we need Christ! He is perfect, we are imperfect; we sin, He is Holy; yet, He is knocking on the door of our hearts continually and wants to have a relationship with us! We who deny him daily with our actions and spit on His blameless name. One of my favorite passages is in Romans 8

      “31 What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32 He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? 33 Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. 34 Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died —more than that, who was raised to life —is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. 35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36 As it is written:

      “For your sake we face death all day long;
      we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”[j]

      37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[k] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (verses 31-39)

      Then in 2 Corinthians 12:10, “That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” and this strength comes only from Christ as said in Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” Christ is strong where I am weak, he lifts me up to mighty places.
      The reality is, I am weak. I fall everyday and fall short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23). Yet, it says in Proverbs that the foolish fall once and don’t get up but, the righteous fall down several times and get up again. Guess what, the Lord declares me and you righteous through Jesus. As told in Isaiah, “I am bringing my righteousness near, it is not far away; and my salvation will not be delayed. I will grant salvation to Zion, my splendor to Israel.” (46:13) with God’s salvation and are calling upon his name and inviting Him into our hearts, we are made clean in His sight. No offering needs to be made, either of deed or of perfection. We just need to come as we are a spotted sacrifice that is still Holy and pleasing to Him (Romans 12:1).
      I encourage you to truly open yourself up to Him, not be afraid to show Him the ugly parts of yourself or be afraid to see things about yourself that make you ashamed. That is His way of refining and drawing closer to Him. He then promises us the fruit of the spirit along with this pursuit of the heart of God. Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness and Self-Control (I capitalize these because they are all God himself). The road is narrow and few pass through it, but what awaits us but to meet and truly KNOW God and live forever with Him in paradise where no longer sin or sadness can touch us. It is worth it to pursue Christ(check out Philipians 3:7-8) for just that alone, leaving our old path behind and running the race, creates an indescribable peace that cannot be calculated or decribed by any earthly being. It exists through trial (we are not exempt from those for we live in a corrupted world), it is there even in sadness and tears.
      If you have not felt this peace, or joy or any of the fruits of the Spirit (Galatians 5 for reference) then you have not truly experienced salvation. Or, you simply need to recommit your life to Christ. I’m sure you have done this multiple times. Now, however is the time where you need to make a conscious serious decision. Not one out of guilt, not one out of emotional influence, but one of a sound mind. That is when you will change. When you deliberately turn from your old ways and pursue a relationship with Christ for you will become more and more like Him.
      My friend, May God Bless you and keep you, let His face shine upon you and give you peace.
      -Bethany

Leave a Reply

