Trends: Glory (Full)

It all comes down to this, by nature we people long for a little love and acceptance. It seems that it is trend to seek attention and praise that will make you feel important. Most settle for those quick as quick temporary satisfactions of doing something outstanding. You get a taste of that, and want more of that feeling that someone sees you for once in your life. Let me ask you a question: Have you ever felt that if you stopped doing the things you do to please others and get some recognition, you would completely collapse uinder your own weight? That used to be the way I was.

Let me tell ya’ll a little story. You know that person who always seems to be the one who is infallible in school, and tries to prove you wrong all the time? That was me. I believed back then that the only way I could feel any acceptance was through my physical capabilities, the things that were completely tangible to others. I then began to build a stage around my insecurities so no one could see them, only see the surface. I did not know back then that physical talents and achievements only count for a small portion of who you are.

When we get to that point of closing our hearts and creating that stage, putting on a show, this is where the vanity creeps in. It becomes completely about us, and that doing something outstanding will win us that affection and adoration we crave. Really, it’s almost like an altar we build around ourselves, the actions that we do are calling others to worship us, and what we have achieved. This will never satisfy, all the praises of people will never satisfy our needy human hearts. This is where God comes in.

Living only for ourselves creates a heavy burden. When we want others to only see us and our capabilities, we begin to feel that this will be the only thing that satisfaction and contentment will arise from. I was at that climax, the burden was like a rock on my back and I was on my knees crying out to God if he could take it all away, and if he could take my life because His hands were the one’s worthy to possess it. “Who has saved us and called us to a holy life—not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time,” (2 Timothy 1:9)  At that moment when I surrendered my pride, I was able to see God’s nature more. He wasn’t trying to only guide my life but remove the burden of it!

Satisfaction and life that reach into eternity arise from living a life to exhibit the merciful love of Christ. That’s right, we should be his exhibits with his love written all over us. This is more tangible to others than any silly trick we could perform, God’s light penetrates all.

“You[God] are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden.” Matthew 5:14 (NIV)

-Bethany

Leave a Reply

